Super Moms

It’s difficult being a mom. And a wife. And a student. And a work-at-home mom. All at the same time. When I was younger, all I wanted was to have a nice home, have a family, be a housewife, take care of the kids, cook for them, take care of my husband. Now that I am older, I realized that it is difficult to be at home and do all these stuff. It’s hard to be a super mom.

I observe how my mother-in-law’s day passes by. She wakes at a 4am, cook breakfast for her grandson who will go to school and for us who will eat later. She eats breakfast around 6 am, then proceed with her chores, which include doing the laundry (using the automatic washing machine), cook lunch, sweep the floor, go to the market, sweep the floor, cook dinner. The chores are routinary, yet they are harder than it seems. It’s hard to think of what to cook for breakfast: hotdog, egg, tapa, sardines, what else? Then what about for lunch and dinner?

I told myself, kaya siguro di pa ko binibigyan ni Lord ng pampagawa ng bahay kasi di ko kayang gawin ang mommy-wife-housewife chores araw-araw.

My mom, on the other hand, is as busy as my mother-in-law. Although she has many assistant is her house, who cook, do the laundry, wash the dishes, and do all the dirty stuff, she still has to wake up early everyday to manage our bakery business. When all of us, her children, are at home, she’s the one who prepares the meals. She’s always in the kitchen, although there’s nothing really special to prepare. She wants to oversee everything else.

A part of me wishes that I’m like those “maswerte” wives who stay at home and take care of the kids, with yaya and cook to do the difficult jobs. When I want to go shopping, I can go shopping without having to worry about the chores or about something left undone.

But then, I realize that we cannot really have everything in life. The most important thing is to be happy with what is happening so that God will shower us with more blessings. If we are not happy with little things, do you think we can be happy with big things?

I still want to be a super mom. I want my child (and future children) to be proud of me every time they talk about me, that I am the best mom in the world. That despite life’s challenges, I always make them feel loved, that I am always by their side when they need me, that I am always present in the most memorable moments of their lives. I am proud of my two mothers, my mommy and my mother in law. I am lucky to have them in my life.

By wishful thinker Posted in family

Leave a Reply

