Reminiscing childhood

I’m having lots of realizations lately. Childhood dreams suddenly pop up while traveling, walking, and even working. I’m thinking that this is the side effect of having plenty of free time.

R.K., one of my favorite authors, said that the difference with the rich and the poor is what they do with their free time.

Lately, I’ve been writing and rewriting, reading (including status updates of my friends in facebook) and re-connecting with old friends. I know these are not productive if we talk about money and wealth, but as I e-mailed (will post the e-mail soon) I’m taking things slow.

Going back to my realizations and recollections, I remembered traveling with my aunt’s family (my uncle who was the driver and their five kids) when I was a kid. We—Dad, if he’s at home, Mom, sis and bro—would always ride in my aunt’s jeepney because we didn’t have our own vehicle then.

I recalled myself looking outside the window, watching the passing cars and viewing the lovely houses. My cousin and I would always count the beautiful houses and we would tell each other that someday, we’re going to have our own beautiful house.

Fast forward to 2009. My family and my aunt’s family no longer travel together as often as when I was a kid. We already have our own vehicle. Even if we take a ride with them, somebody was always missing because my cousins have work already or that they don’t want to visit my mother’s old town anymore. My cousin and I already have our own families. (Both of us married last year, and both are unplanned; well it’s a different story already.)

Whatever happened to the house of our dreams? My house remains a dream. So is hers, I guess. We never get to talk as we used to. We grew apart along with time’s passing. And if we ever wanted to reconnect, much has happened that we don’t know where to start.

I still dream of building my own house. And I long for the days when we would just sit under a tree and talk about almost anything. Melodie/December 7, 2009

Leave a Reply

